Joe Mettle finally breaks the jinx to win the Artiste of the year


Though gospel artistes have managed to get as many nominations as their secular colleagues over the years, they have still not been able to clinch the topmost award at the Ghana Music Awards since its inception some 17 years ago.
It nearly fell to Kwaku Gyasi in 2007 but he was upstaged by King Ayisoba with his hugely popular ‘I Want To See My Father’ song.
In 2008, Ohemaa Mercy was tipped to walk away with the flagship award but Kwaw Kese denied her the title.
This year, the mantle has fallen on Joe Mettle to break the jinx with two of his colleagues—Nacee and Sonnie Badu calling on members of the gospel fraternity to rally behind him to wrestle the title from the other competitors.
Joe Mettle who was contending for the Artist of the Year Award with MzVee, Medikal, Sarkodie, Stonebwoy, E. L. after the event which went down on Saturday the 8th of April 2017 saw Joe Mettle emerge as Artist of the Year .
Artiste of the year- Joe Mettle
Vodafone Popular song of the year-Dobble-christy
Best New artiste of the year-Fancy Gadam
Gospel artist of the year- Joe Mettle
Gospel song of the year-ye wo nyame-Nacee ft Ernest Opoku
High life song of the year- Confession – Kofi Kinaata
High life artiste of the year- Kofi Kinaata
Hip hop song of the year- God Mc – Manifest
Hiplife/hip hop artiste of the year- Sarkodie
Hip life song- Go Low – Flowking Stone
Afro pop song of the year- Kaa Bu Ame – EL
Best rapper of the year-Manifest
Best collaboration of the year-Vvip-ft Patoranking-Alhaji
Best group of the year- VVIP
Best reggae/dancehall artiste of the year- Stonebwoy
Best reggae/dancehall song of the year- People Dey Stonebwoy
Album of the year-counselor -Nacee
Best male vocalist- Joe Mettle
Best female vocalist-Adina
African artiste of the year- Runtown
Songwriter of the year- Kofi Kinaata- Confession
Record of the year-Adina
Lifetime Achievement award- Paapa Yankson
Best Video- small small – Okyeam Kwame
Unsung Artiste of the year-Kuami Eugene
Traditional Artist of the year.
Sammy Ahmed
Instrumentalist Of The Year-Phillip Acquah
Kumi Ransford


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here